Notices
Stock JK Tech Bulletin board forum regarding issues with OE (original equipment) components of the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) such as factory suspension parts, engine, transmission, body parts, interior fixtures and the on-board computer.

Spare parts for road trip?

Old 06-19-2014, 08:45 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Spare parts for road trip?

I hope to be taking a 2 week trip to Montana this summer. 99% of the mileage (4000 approx) will be on highways, rest will be on forest service, gravel roads, etc. No hard core off-roading. My JKU is stock.

I've converted the transfer case linkage with the Advance Adapters upgrade, so no need to take any replacements for the plastic heim joints on each end of the stock setup. I've bought a replacement serpentine belt, and have the usual tire repair options ( plug kit, spare in a can). Will also have a bag of tools, but I'm no mechanic.

Any suggestions for other spare parts that I've missed? Any/all thoughts will be appreciated.

Thanks
Old 06-19-2014, 12:07 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

This is one of those questions that really cannot be answered correctly. To cover all the mechanical, electrical and fuel related failures that MAY occur, you'd need a small trailer to haul extra parts. Just go with the simple items that normally are needed: Spare tire in good shape, maybe 'Fix A Flat', tire tools and a jack that works, some spare oil and trans fluid (the trans fluid is used for the power steering too), jumper cables or a jumpstart/compressor combination unit, and maybe a "Haynes" manual to assist you. Other than that, there is no real answer for all you may need. For a trip that long, I'd make sure my battery was fairly fresh and belts and hoses in good shape. Good luck.
Old 06-19-2014, 01:37 PM
JK Newbie

Default Spare Parts?