Notices
Stock JK Tech Bulletin board forum regarding issues with OE (original equipment) components of the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) such as factory suspension parts, engine, transmission, body parts, interior fixtures and the on-board computer.

Ski rack for JK?

Old 05-07-2018, 06:32 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ski rack for JK?

To all,

I'm a newbie here, and I cross-posted this on the Modified board, but perhaps it is more appropriate for the Stock board. Mea culpa it this is a faux pas. On Friday, we bought a brand-new 2018 Rubicon Recon, on Saturday we took it off-roading, and now its Gobi paint job is tastefully spattered with mud, just as it should be (this is not our first Jeep rodeo). The Recon will be my primary winter vehicle, and as I'm a ski instructor at Breckenridge, I need to figure out how to transport skis, other than running them down the middle on the inside. I already own a Thule gutter mount system with ski rack, but I can't park the Recon in my garage with the rack installed, so that's a deal-killer. I also already own a Yakima hitch bike rack, and as a ski instructor I can get the Yakima Hitchski convertor at 70% discount; however, the reviews are all awful, the consensus being to save one's money. Thule likewise only offers a similar ski adaptor for its bicycle hitch rack. Quadratech makes no fittings that will allow attachment of skis. I've read all the old threads here, but it doesn't seem anybody really has solved this problem very well. Are there other products of which I'm unaware? I have an old Barrecrafters ski rack from the 1960s, and I'm thinking of cannibalizing it and welding up my own, but my wife has visions of skis scattered down the highway, which perhaps is not entirely unlikely.

Does nobody produce a hitch rack that will fit a JK???

Thanks in advance,

Rich
Old 05-14-2018, 10:53 AM
JK Newbie