Notices
Stock JK Tech Bulletin board forum regarding issues with OE (original equipment) components of the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) such as factory suspension parts, engine, transmission, body parts, interior fixtures and the on-board computer.

Rear Wheel Hub

Old 01-19-2021, 05:43 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rear Wheel Hub

Good morning,
I'm new to the Jeep community and I love my Jeep already. I did, however, buy a project because I love making things my own. My jeep had nearly every ABS light on the dash on when I bought it. I replaced both front wheel hubs and sensors with new brake pads as well. Still the lights were on. I went to the local parts store, Autozone, and scanned it yesterday and got codes:
P0571 Cruise Control/Brake Switch circuit malfunction
U1417 Implausible left wheel distance signal received
C101F Right front wheel speed comparative performance
C107C Brake pedal switch 1/2 stuck
C102A Left rear wheel speed comparative performance
I already had a rear wheel sensor so I replaced that last night. My issue here is that the old one was completely covered in mud and apparently the inside of the wheel hub is full of mud. This was the case on the front as well. How does one go about cleaning that out as it seems replacement is not as simple as the front was?
I also purchased the brake switch but, from what I've read, it seems the lights would either not work or stay on if the switch was faulty.
Also, this morning the park brake light came on and stayed on as I was leaving my house so replacing the rear sensor last night has triggered a new issue.
Any coaching from you vets would be awesome.
Old 01-19-2021, 06:13 AM
JK Junkie

Received 160 Likes on 141 Posts

For the rear, you need to remove the rotor. Basically you take a soft hammer and bang the crap out of the rotor while you rotate it.