Notices
Stock JK Tech Bulletin board forum regarding issues with OE (original equipment) components of the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) such as factory suspension parts, engine, transmission, body parts, interior fixtures and the on-board computer.

Newbie questions about axles and ratios

Old 12-20-2011, 05:12 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie questions about axles and ratios

Sorry guys . . . hope these aren't "stupid" questions . . .

I'm a newbie Jeep owner . . . love my 2012 stock Sahara!

It has a 3.21 rear axle ratio. I am not an engineer, but I can understand some concepts! When the time comes, if I wanted to upgrade to larger tires (say 35"), I would need to increase the rear axle ratio to "deeper" (numerically higher) gears, right? Maybe a 3.73 gear?

I have been reading Jim Allen's book, etc. but I'm still learning, etc. and am confused. Sorry.

Questions:

1) If you change your rear axle ratio to a numerically higher gear (as I had done with my 1998 Mustang from 2.83 to 3.27) you should improve the acceleration. With heavier and larger tires, an increase in gearing should compensate for the increased mass of the tires and keep strain off the drivetrain, right?

So . . . wouldn't you also have to change the front axle ratio to match the rear? Or did I misunderstand something?

2) My Jeep has a "Dana 44" rear axle and a "Dana 30" front axle. I know that the Rubicons have both front and rear Dana 44's. Can someone please explain the differences . . . what does the "44" and "30" mean? Is it the number of splines on each axle? I would assume that a Dana 44 is a heavier and stronger axle of course, if they put it on the Rubicon.

I tried to figure these things out on my own, but with no luck.

As a newbie, I am getting more and more interested in the technical aspects of our Jeeps, but . . . I am not the sharpest knife in the drawer, nor am I very mechanically inclined (at this point anyway).