Notices
Stock JK Tech Bulletin board forum regarding issues with OE (original equipment) components of the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) such as factory suspension parts, engine, transmission, body parts, interior fixtures and the on-board computer.

Limitations Stock Sahara

Old 12-20-2010, 12:08 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Limitations Stock Sahara

As i am new to Jeeps (2 weeks), I was just wondering what the limitations of a stock Sahara Unlimited is on the trails.

What can it do in Mud, water, Rocks, beach... etc.

How much flex does it have? Etc.

Thanks

-Evan
Old 12-20-2010, 12:09 PM
JK Newbie

Check out some youtube videos.
Old 12-20-2010, 12:15 PM
JK Enthusiast

Originally Posted by evan631
As i am new to Jeeps (2 weeks), I was just wondering what the limitations of a stock Sahara Unlimited is on the trails.

Thanks

-Evan
Well depending upon what you want to do with it, I have a 2dr sahara and she has never let me down in mud, water or beach, I haven't found a lot of rocks to play on as i'm in the south east, but best guess for you is take it easy and slowly step it up when you feel comfortable with what you are doing. THere is technique to be learned, sometimes more pedel sometimes not ya know what i mean.

Also might want to check out some youtube videos as sugested lots of em show you what not to do!
Old 12-20-2010, 12:19 PM
JK Freak

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by evan631

Thanks

-Evan

Air down your tires to about 15 psi and disconnect your sway bar links, and you can do all of the above. Height (clearance) will be more of a limiting factor. I've heard of some Rubi's eliminating their e-discos and replacing them with quick disconnects, claiming to get more flex with the standard sway bar, and disconnecting it (not speaking from personal experience, just what I've heard).
Old 12-20-2010, 06:21 PM
JK Junkie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post