Notices
Stock JK Tech Bulletin board forum regarding issues with OE (original equipment) components of the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) such as factory suspension parts, engine, transmission, body parts, interior fixtures and the on-board computer.

Hurricane Harvey and mudding

Old 08-28-2017, 07:26 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hurricane Harvey and mudding

I'm in the Austin area, and with all the rain fall decided to get out and get the jeep dirty. I hit a mud trail / utility easement and was driving along nicely in 4wd hi. I came to a ditch that was about 3.5' deep with water and hit it in 4wd hi. Here is where things got ugly, and I'm hoping someone can explain it to me. I'll be the first to admit that I am a newbie. The jeep came to a stop, and the 4wd hi would not engage. 4wd lo did engage, but as I was climbing out of the ditch, I was redlining the engine. Was I doing something wrong? I realized this morning that I did not check the 4wd hi once I got out of the ditch.
Old 08-28-2017, 09:52 AM
JK Junkie

Received 160 Likes on 141 Posts

I don't know about your particular issue. However, 4-hi is to be used when driving at faster speeds, such as in the highway in the snow. When you are off road in gravel, sand, mud, etc you should be in 4-low. 3.5ft is pretty deep. By "hit it" did you creep into it or blast into it? That's a good way to suck water into your engine. What year Jeep you got? If you have a pre-2012 auto transmission, driving for a while at low speeds in 4-hi is a great way to overheat your trans if it doesn't have a cooler installed.

Last edited by rob_engineer; 08-28-2017 at 10:14 AM.
Old 08-28-2017, 11:22 AM
JK Newbie

That's some pretty deep water there. You may want to get some extended breather tubes or you are gonna end up with water in your pumpkins / transfer case and that won't be good.

SMILIN' BOB'S BREATHER HOSE EXTENSION KIT
Smilin' Bob's Breather Hose Extension Kit
Old 08-28-2017, 11:52 AM