Notices
Stock JK Tech Bulletin board forum regarding issues with OE (original equipment) components of the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) such as factory suspension parts, engine, transmission, body parts, interior fixtures and the on-board computer.

Hit 90 Today - Engine was HOT - WTF

Old 04-25-2009, 06:44 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Hit 90 Today - Engine was HOT - WTF

Driving around today in a one year old 4 door rubicon on some fire roads. Some steep hills both incline and decline. The engine was HOT. While I'm not new to cars, I am new to Jeeps and have never experienced an engine making so much heat radiate to the point where the fan would just not stop. Forget it when I put the AC on. The noise coming from the engine sounded like a dead wolf.

Is there that much additional stress on the tranny going off road vs highway? Had to pull over twice to let it cool down.

Any thoughts? This normal with a JK? Any aftermarket products I could buy to cool things down?

Does this happen to ya'll in SoCal where you get seriously hot weather?

Thanks all.

Last edited by liquidrock; 04-25-2009 at 06:48 PM.
Old 04-25-2009, 06:50 PM
JK Jedi Master

Received 171 Likes on 146 Posts

What was the temp gauge pointing to?
Old 04-25-2009, 06:54 PM
JK Enthusiast

Originally Posted by ronjenx
What was the temp gauge pointing to?
That's the thing - dead even in the middle This did not happen last summer at all.
Old 04-25-2009, 06:58 PM
JK Jedi Master

Received 171 Likes on 146 Posts

Originally Posted by liquidrock
That's the thing - dead even in the middle This did not happen last summer at all.
You can't tell by how hot the engine seems. The gauge will be straight up as long as the engine is not overheated. The fan comes on for the engine at around 215, then will turn off around 195.

I would suggest you install a tranny temp gauge, or get an AeroForce Gauge to plug in.
The AeroForce Gauge will display both engine and tranny temps.