Notices
Stock JK Tech Bulletin board forum regarding issues with OE (original equipment) components of the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) such as factory suspension parts, engine, transmission, body parts, interior fixtures and the on-board computer.

door surrounds

Old 02-27-2020, 04:55 AM
JK Newbie

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default door surrounds

Can someone school me on Door surrounds? I'm new to Jeeps, and have a 2013 Sahara Unlimited. When we bought the jeep, the dealership installed a new Rough Country top, which I know is the probably the cheapest one out there. The wife likes the looks of the TrekTop NX Glide, so we will probably be getting one soon. I've seen a few people talk about replacing the door surrounds when doing a new top, is it necessary and whats the reasoning.

Will new door surrounds help with keeping the top sealed, not leak?
Will they help with air noise?
whats the best brand to get, I see best top makes them, and a few other brands outside of OEM.

thanks

Old 02-27-2020, 05:17 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 42 Likes on 36 Posts

If you buy a new TrekTop NX it should come with the surrounds and the required hardware.
Old 02-27-2020, 05:33 AM
JK Newbie

Originally Posted by Ghost JK
If you buy a new TrekTop NX it should come with the surrounds and the required hardware.
Good to know.
Old 02-27-2020, 07:59 AM
JK Jedi
FJOTM Winner

Received 1,943 Likes on 1,700 Posts

Originally Posted by Ghost JK
+1, and if you sell your current top, you sell all the corresponding hardware with it. When buying soft tops, it's less important what year they came from and more important that the tops come with all the corresponding hardware as tops, especially factory tops, changed over the years. Enjoy that jeep!
Old 02-27-2020, 08:57 AM
JK Newbie

Originally Posted by resharp001