Notices
Stock JK Tech Bulletin board forum regarding issues with OE (original equipment) components of the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) such as factory suspension parts, engine, transmission, body parts, interior fixtures and the on-board computer.

Auto Transmission Questoins

Old 07-17-2008, 10:28 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Auto Transmission Questoins

First, I am new to Wrangler. I had it for a year and I have been enjoying no door no top in the hot dry heat in Idaho.

My JK is a 2 door auto with stock tires (I believe it's 30 or 31 inch).

I've read a lot of posts on auto tranny fluid leaking and some believe that this could be the cause of the spotaneous combustion.

I really love my JK, but these posts made me really nervous, too. I don't really know anything about cars and I want to be proactive to make sure that I would not have any transmission problems, especially when I drive with my kids in the back.

I use the Jeep for daily driving and pull my 16 foot small alminum boat for fishing on weekends (drives 2-3 hours one way for the longset trip). I usually take it slow and I would not go faster than 80MPH with trailing the boat.

So, my questions are

1) Where should I be looking for possible transmission fluid leaks?
2) Where is this transmission fluid contained?
3) My understanding is that the transmission fluid can overflow if it gets too hot. Would it leak from where the dip stick is?
4) Tranny cooler could help reduce the transmission fluid, right? Where can you get it and how much would it cost to have it install?

Sorry for asking stupid questions, but learning these things and being on top of things would give me a piece of mind. If you could show me some pictures that would help me a lot!

I've been learning a lot of things on this forum and I am really enjoying riding the Jeep!

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by katsumotology; 07-17-2008 at 10:42 PM.
Old 07-18-2008, 01:29 AM
JK Jedi Master