Notices
Stock JK Tech Bulletin board forum regarding issues with OE (original equipment) components of the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) such as factory suspension parts, engine, transmission, body parts, interior fixtures and the on-board computer.

3.8 v6

Old 05-08-2016, 05:15 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 3.8 v6

OK I'm new to the JK jeep and I have a 2011 but whats with this anemic 3.8 V6? I can't even go up a small hill , thats all we have here in Kansas, without downshifting 2 gears (automatic). When I pull my small expedition style teardrop trailer I don't even get to top gear and the mileage goes to 12 mpg or less sometimes. Am I missing something here? Or do I just have the high dollar solutions to fall back on? Supercharger, V8 swap etc. I'm running stock tires and only bolt on accessories, winch, bumpers, tire carrier and so on. Any ideas?
Old 05-08-2016, 05:23 PM
JK Jedi Master

Received 171 Likes on 146 Posts

Keep overdrive off under 50 mph, and off all the time when towing.
If you let the computer decide when to drop out of overdrive, it will wait too long. Then it will have to drop into 2nd to keep up, which means the rpm will be very high.

That's the best you can do for free. The 3.8L JK doesn't like hills, and it doesn't like towing.

Have you considered regearing the axles?
Old 05-08-2016, 06:23 PM
Super Moderator
FJOTM Winner

Received 483 Likes on 440 Posts

It sounds like you've also got some weight, they're not terribly fond of that either.

What axle ratios do you have, that could be your culprit as Ron is suggesting above.
Old 05-08-2016, 07:48 PM
JK Newbie

Originally Posted by karls10jk
It sounds like you've also got some weight, they're not terribly fond of that either.

What axle ratios do you have, that could be your culprit as Ron is suggesting above.
Its a stock Rubicon and I think they are 4.10 if I remember the sticker correctly. I forgot it also has the K&N cold air filter system