Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Added 33's and it feels sluggish

Old 05-18-2009, 10:29 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Added 33's and it feels sluggish

Hey Guys,

I am a total newbie to this site and was hoping to find some help here. I recently replaced the stock tires with new Goodyear Silent Armor 33's on my 4-door Sahara with a manual transmission and ever since the car doesnt feel right. The car seems really sluggish and acceleration has really suffered. It's almost as if the first gear is too strong and accelerating from a stop is not smooth anymore, it feels really jerky and the engines revs up a lot. Do i need to install new gears? When I first got the car it was such a smooth ride and now its a bumpy, crappy, jerky jeep full of rattles.

Also, when I really push hard on the gas in first or second gear, this high-pitched rattle-like sound appears. Why?

I probably did a horrible job a explaning the issue but hope that someone out there may know what I am experiencing.

Thanks guys!

Robin
Long island, NY
Old 05-18-2009, 10:41 AM
JK Jedi Master
FJOTM Winner

Received 162 Likes on 154 Posts

Well, first off, you're going to get a whole lot of grief here for calling your jeep a car...

It is common to feel a loss of power when you increase tire height, and yes, putting in new gears is how you get back to 'stock' power.