Notices
JK Wheels and Tires For all questions and answers concerning Wheels and Tires for Jeep JKs.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

biggest tires for stock JK sport???

Old 09-03-2024, 02:00 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default biggest tires for stock JK sport???

This has to be the most basic question possible. Somehow, I didn't find it as a sticky or an easy to find preexisting thread.

What is the biggest tire I can put on a stock JK sport 2-door without it rubbing?

Currently I have 32 x 10" tires. They have no problems. Can I go 33"? Can I go 12.5 wide?

If 33 x 12.5 will fit as-is, then I'm done. If I need to add a spacer, then I will need to learn if that also means longer lug nut studs or something like that. I've never used spacers before. If a 12.5" wide tire needs different offset spacing, am I better off buying a different rim, rather than adding spacers? I would be buying rims & tires together anyway.

Thanks,
Jim
Old 09-03-2024, 10:50 AM
JK Jedi
FJOTM Winner

Received 1,943 Likes on 1,700 Posts

not going to answer your original question on tire size, but want to clarify that we often say "spacer" when we are referring to "adapters". the most common adapter is going to be 1.5", and that is plenty big to bolt to and cover the factory wheel studs, and then provides you with 5 new wheel studs to mount your wheel to. A 1.5" adapter with the factory wheel is going to net a 4.75" backspace which is plenty to run a 12.5" tire. There's not really an issue running a quality adapter like a Spidertrax. If you removed brake rotors a lot for any reason it does get a little old having another set of lug nuts to remove and retorque, but obviously an economical solution to buying new rims if you're fine with the factory ones. That part is all subjective. If out doing technically challenging wheeling, just better to have proper wheels. for most people an adapter can be fine.
The following users liked this post:
JimWPB (09-05-2024)
Old 09-05-2024, 03:37 AM