Notices
The New Member Registry If you're new to JK-Forum.com, please take a moment to sign-in, introduce yourself and show us your Jeep JK Wrangler!!

New to forum, but not new to my beloved JK

Old 06-26-2024, 07:24 AM
JK Newbie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default New to forum, but not new to my beloved JK

Hi everyone,

New to the forum here. Thought I would introduce myself. I'm a long time JK driver and probably not a typical wrangler owner. I absolutely love the JK platform and the wrangler for the functionality of what it gives me.

I drive a 2013 Sahara unlimited. I bought it off a friend of mine back in 2018. I was looking at new vehicles back then and was turned off by all the annoying flashy technology in the vehicles. I don't need a vehicle that disables my ABS, traction control and 15 other systems when my rear left turn light goes dark (okay, maybe a slight exaggeration). This point of view was strengthened when my wife (now ex) purchased a 2018 subaru. Absolute nanny vehicle. Apparently on curvy roads, I wander over the line on the shoulder alot. And who decided I need to be notified when the car in front of me in the drive through pulled forward! I'm not anti-tech anywhere except in my vehicles. Less tech the better.

So the new to me 2013 JK had the three tech features I need. 1) Remote start 2) Heated seats 3) Bluetooth. I actually started looking at used vehicles in 2018 so I could get less features. I wanted something that was easy to maintain, going to last me to 300k miles, and has less stuff to break. Turns out this 2013 JK was (and still is) the ticket. Maybe I'm lucky. I also bought it because I like the ability to be able to do my own maintenance on this platform. I knew when buying it, the JK probably has the most robust crowd/community knowledge and aftermarket support of probably any vehicle ever produced.