Notices
Stock JK Tech Bulletin board forum regarding issues with OE (original equipment) components of the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) such as factory suspension parts, engine, transmission, body parts, interior fixtures and the on-board computer.

Confused about axle seals and diff fluid - send help!

Old 12-05-2023, 03:30 PM
Vid
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Confused about axle seals and diff fluid - send help!

Hey all. Sorry to say, but I have some truly basic questions about the rear end on my Jeep - 2007 Jeep Wrangler X with a Dana 44 rear axle. Stock everything, no mods, 198,000 miles. Daily driver, work horse, country road pioneer, heavy hauler, 4WD low on the farm, all around amazing lady. The transmission is a rebuild that's only got about 30K on it, replaced the shifter assembly then as well. I've been keeping this jeep running as best I can since 2007. I do 100% of my own work on her in my gravel driveway because every time I take her to a "professional" shop they literally just mess something else up. I've done a lot of work on this vehicle in the last decade including, complete brake jobs/parking brake rebuild, steering component replacement, full suspension overhaul, countless electrical repairs, sensors, pinion seals and drive shaft rebuild, you name it... and still, I don't know everything. It is now time to learn everything I can about rear end rebuilds. I am easily confused and know just enough about working on cars to be potentially very dangerous, and therefore am looking for some yes or no answers and some straightforward advice before I ruin my beloved Bobbi's rear end. Thanks in advance for any help y'all can offer.

1. There are both an outer axle seal at the wheel bearing and an inner axle seal at the differential housing? Yes, or No.

2. If both seals are good, there shouldn't be any fluid in the actual axle housing other than in the pumpkin? Yes, or No.