Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Wheels/Tires on Stock vehicle help!

Old 01-17-2012, 04:00 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wheels/Tires on Stock vehicle help!

I am looking for a change from my stock 18" wheels/tires on my 2007 Sahara Unlimited to something that looks a little meaner ( and is a little better in NY winter weather.

I am not looking to spend a ton of money, but here is what I am thinking:

15 or 16" wheel on a good set of rubber.

any suggestions on what size I can go on a completely stock vehicle?

It is my first time doing a change like this, so I would like it to work on a stock vehicle- and I don't want to spend thousands.

Thanks in advance!

2007 Sahara Unlimited with 94k bone STOCK!
Old 01-17-2012, 04:23 PM
JK-Forum Founder

Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts

bone stock, you can safely run a 32" tire or a 255 - no modifications needed. depending on the tire make, you might be able to go as high as a 33" tire or 285 but, you will most likely have some minor rubbing to deal with.
Old 01-17-2012, 05:06 PM
JK Enthusiast

I am running 285 70 17's on my stock JKU and when I turn all the way either way my tires rub the sway bar a little bit. It's not a huge deal to me, but I do plan on a 2-2.5" lift in the near future.
Old 01-17-2012, 09:06 PM
JK Super Freak

Originally Posted by wayoflife
bone stock, you can safely run a 32" tire or a 255 - no modifications needed. depending on the tire make, you might be able to go as high as a 33" tire or 285 but, you will most likely have some minor rubbing to deal with.
x2