Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

what determines the ride quality? Shock or Coil

Old 04-13-2010, 08:11 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default what determines the ride quality? Shock or Coil

to install a lift kit that comes with shock and coil, the ride quality will change.

Can someone tell me me which one determines the ride quality: shock or coil.
Also, can you specify which parameter determines the ride quality and hos!

Thanks!
Old 04-13-2010, 08:42 PM
JK Super Freak

I'm not an expert, but I do have experience with many different lift combinations. Coils can determine ride quality, but from my experience it is mostly the shocks that determine your ride quality. Some shocks are adjustable -- stiff or soft. The stiffer the shock, the better your vehicle's balance and handling. The softer the shock, the smoother the ride but you need to take turns slower in order to keep your vehicle from losing control or getting off balance. Shock 101: twin tubes are usually fairly stiff and monotubes are usually a better ride. This is just basic info. I'm sure someone with more experience will chime in soon enough.