Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Ways to truly increase engine power or is the jk pentastar just that good?

Old 10-24-2013, 01:03 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ways to truly increase engine power or is the jk pentastar just that good?

I just thought id throw this out there and keep in mind that I am no ceritified mechanic and basically a newbie jeeper. So my question is? Are there anyways to practically increase hp, torque or engine "power" on a 3.6 pentastar. It seems to be that air filters, exhaust systems and chips are basically shams plagued with issues for jks and jkus and a 5grand supercharger seems very unpractical for most of us (with its own pitfalls of course.) It seems that the meager 3.6 v6 in modern jeeps would be too little for some trails and for those looking for a bit more pep ob the roads... In my opinion it seems at least on the rubi a v8 hemi or other v8 would be an option especially considering heavy dana 44s and huge tires we so much like our rigs to push. Any thought. Anyone drop a chevy in their shiny new jk? Go ahead and rip me up or give stories, reasons for the current motor and lack of a v8 option. Thought this would be fun! Thanks!
Old 10-24-2013, 01:12 PM
JK Enthusiast

I am surprised you poo-poo'd a 5K Super Charger that can be installed in your garage (And uninstalled if needed) but considered a 20K V8 using a motor that probably came out of a crash Jeep?