Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Vibration starts around 2500 RPM usually in 5th gear

Old 09-14-2016, 01:43 PM
JK Enthusiast
FJOTM Winner

Received 35 Likes on 27 Posts
Default Vibration starts around 2500 RPM usually in 5th gear

I have about 150 miles since upgrading gears to 4.88. I have been noticing for last 6-8 months this vibration, seams to be more noticeable since I bumped up to STT PRO 35's and now with new gears installed last week. I've looked close at the driveshafts and I'm wondering if my front may be the culprit of what I feel. Usually it occurs over 50MPH and around 25-2700 RPM.

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2243169317.jpg
Views:	297
Size:	507.0 KB
ID:	656827

This and below pic is my area of concern. The joint feels tight but can see where some grease has splattered out from the joint.

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2909706239.jpg
Views:	201
Size:	486.4 KB
ID:	656830

Rear shaft I can't find any problems. I have an appointment in Friday to take back to where I had gears installed. I don't want to void my regear warrantee so was going to have them take a look to make sure no problem with the gear install.

Any suggestions or trying to figure out if in fact my problem is with the drive shaft. I have 2 1/2 TeraFlex lift, no problem with steering or death wobble. I'm just a little concerned with the feel.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1808894383.jpg
Views:	103
Size:	487.1 KB
ID:	656828   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1853897791.jpg
Views:	138
Size:	483.5 KB
ID:	656829  
Old 09-14-2016, 01:59 PM
Super Moderator