Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Total Noob Question

Old 01-06-2015, 05:58 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Total Noob Question

Sorry for such a noob question lol but I have a sport wrangler with 35's and I'm not totally sure of all the benefits of having it regeared as people say to do. Can someone explain?
Old 01-06-2015, 06:21 AM
JK Freak

I am no expert by any means, however the regearing is so it will get out of its own way. the lower gearing numbers like 3.21 are more for better MPG by the factory. but the higher gears give more torque which is desirable for wheeling and also better for getting the bigger heavier tires moving a little quicker, so less lag when pulling out and so on. Do you know what gears you currently have?
I'm sure more will chime in with more technical info
Old 01-06-2015, 06:58 AM
JK Newbie

Originally Posted by trouty33
I am no expert by any means, however the regearing is so it will get out of its own way. the lower gearing numbers like 3.21 are more for better MPG by the factory. but the higher gears give more torque which is desirable for wheeling and also better for getting the bigger heavier tires moving a little quicker, so less lag when pulling out and so on. Do you know what gears you currently have?
I'm sure more will chime in with more technical info
So i'm guessing i'd gain some MPG if I regear? I still have factory gearing. It's my daily driver but I take it off-road time to time since its brand new so i'm still babying it lol

Last edited by SubtleShot; 01-06-2015 at 07:01 AM.
Old 01-06-2015, 07:31 AM
JK Freak

Originally Posted by SubtleShot