Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Suspension rebound

Old 03-21-2021, 04:38 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Suspension rebound

I have a 2012 JK with a 3.5” AEV DualSport Suspension and 35” tires. I’ve been driving that for about 6 years and it’s given me no problems, except it’s a very, very uncomfortable, swaying back and forth, ride in rocky conditions and the front wheels like to come off the ground too easily while rock crawling.

My friends are always tinkering with their suspensions, everything from dual and triple rate springs ( which they swear by), stiffer rear sway bar(really? How much can one bend?), and shocks. They run long arm and mine is a short arm, so there’s that.

Anyway, these trails down here are nothing but rocks and holes of all sizes and non-stop ledges. My wife gets thrown so hard from side to side sometimes she has gotten a couple of hard knocks hitting her head on the seat belt connector. We’re talking 2-3 miles per hour.

I’m thinking I need to do something to adjust the rebound, but that doesn’t seem to be anything people talk about re Jeep’s.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Old 03-22-2021, 07:48 AM
JK Jedi
FJOTM Winner

Received 366 Likes on 290 Posts