Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Stock lug wrench doesn't fit lugs on new rims

Old 10-28-2011, 08:56 AM
JK Freak

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question Stock lug wrench doesn't fit lugs on new rims

So having purchased my jeep I haven't really thought about changing the tire. I've got a hi-lift jack which I've never used before and thankfully haven't had the need. Well, I now know the use of the jack.

Anyhow, the real issue came around when trying to check the lugs to make sure they were tight. So unknowingly I grabbed the [stock] lug wrench and figured out that it will not fit into the hole for which the lugs sit In other words the diameter of tool is much wider than the diameter of the hole the lug is set into.

So my question is do I need to get a custom lug wrench or what?

Maybe something like the "Gorilla Lug Wrench Kit Gorilla Power Wrench"?

Last edited by hneiper; 10-28-2011 at 09:04 AM.
Old 10-28-2011, 09:13 AM
JK Super Freak

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Just go buy a socket and breaker bar maybe small extension too.
Old 10-28-2011, 09:28 AM
JK Freak

Originally Posted by Jae Suite
Thanks. I didn't even know what a breaker bar was till now.
Old 10-28-2011, 09:49 AM
JK Enthusiast

OK, so you got aftermarket wheels and lugs? Are they a standard lug or spline? If they are procomp or gorilla, they should have given you a new lug key (socket that fits your new lugs). Than you can buy a folding breakerbar that will have 4 sizes in it. keep that in the jeep in the rear compartment. you should be set.