Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Starting with Tires...but how big

Old 08-15-2012, 12:12 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Starting with Tires...but how big

Ok so I am very new to Jeeps... mostly muscle cars in my past. So I will apologize in advance.

I just bought my first ever Jeep... 09 X It needs new rubber right away. Of course I am dreaming of tires wheels and a lift but the pocket book dont let things like that happen in one purchase.

Not sure of all the details for the stock rims... This forum seems to be about the best source of information I have found so far... and yea I am in remote AZ so I just cant run into an off-road shop at the drop of a hat for advice LOL

Ultimately I would like to end up with a 2 to 4 in lift and nice wheels but the Jeep is just going to sit in my driveway if I do not put rubber on it soon...and for sure will not be on a trail. I am thinking 33X12.5? Then later (next year) wheels and shortly after that lift and new tires again? Can I go with a tire that big on the stock rims? Or should I just stay with a more standard size and simply wait till I can afford to do it all (big tires, wheels and lift) in one shot?

Any and all comments will be helpful
Old 08-15-2012, 12:18 PM
JK Freak

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I know tons of people putting 33's without lift with minimal rubbing. If you stay with the stock wheels you will probably needs to get wheel spacers for the wider tires.
Old 08-15-2012, 12:32 PM
JK Newbie

My 08 had 285/70 R17 on the 17” stock wheels when I bought it. That comes out to 33x11.5.