Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Rugged Ridge Snorkel...Does it Work?

Old 01-21-2013, 05:06 AM
JK Super Freak

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rugged Ridge Snorkel...Does it Work?

I have seen many posts on this forum as well as other forums about people being skeptical on how well the Rugged Ridge snorkel kit works. I've been running it for about 7 months now and never really got to test it. I went through some mud puddles and long, shallow areas of water that would given a CAI and possibly the OEM intake box issues....but I wanted to REALLY test this thing out. So, yesterday I was out on a nice, easy trail (only mild clearance 2WD was needed) to scope out some camping spots and go to an area I've never been. On my way home I saw what was kind of like a beach on a river or creek just off the road; I decided it would be fun to test the snorkel here. As I drive up I take a quick peek at the water and decided it didn't look too bad. It was darker water but I could see the sand a few feet out from the shore. I put it in 4L and proceed into the water, deciding I would drive slowly since I couldn't see too far out. The plan was do just go in, turn around, and get back onto shore to get out and head home. I'm glad I did go slow, because little did I know, where the sand stopped being visible there was a shelf/drop-off. Once the front went down and I saw water just over the hood, I put it in reverse and tried to back out. As I did, the very soft sand just started to let my wheels spin. Even though I became stuck rather quickly, I think it was a good thing in a way, because I kind of anchored in which prevente