Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Rubicon driveshaft vs. Sport-difference?

Old 05-27-2013, 09:06 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rubicon driveshaft vs. Sport-difference?

I just swapped my ftont Dana 30 for a Dana 44 out of a Rubicon. A guy asked me if I swapped the front driveshaft as well because the Rubi was much better. Is there a difference? Should I swap?
Old 05-27-2013, 09:16 PM
JK Freak

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

As far as I'm aware (I'm not an expert though, lol) the driveshafts on the different models are the same and they are all plagued with the same problems. The only real upgrade as far as driveshafts would be going aftermarket.

Last edited by Runewolf1973; 05-27-2013 at 09:20 PM.
Old 05-27-2013, 09:22 PM
JK Super Freak

Originally Posted by Runewolf1973
As far as I'm aware (I'm not an expert though, lol) the driveshafts on the different models are the same and they are all plagued with the same problems. The only real upgrade as far as driveshafts would be going aftermarket.
x2

It is the same on both models. If you lift to 2.5"+, may want to consider aftermarket. If not lifting, not necessary to change it unless you break it.
Old 05-28-2013, 01:24 AM
JK Newbie

Then there are the hundreds of threads of issues with driveline vibrations with aftermarket driveshafts and low gear ratios. Who wins
Old 05-30-2013, 10:19 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by wxgs
Then there are the hundreds of threads of issues with driveline vibrations with aftermarket driveshafts and low gear ratios. Who wins