Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

questio about fitting 15" rims on my JK

Old 04-04-2010, 09:40 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default questio about fitting 15" rims on my JK

So I haven't purchased a set yet, but since the funds are tight right now I have been considering going the 15"route . I have a 08 sahara with no lift (just a leveling kit) and with 50k on the odometer and after someone recently stole the spare off the back my stock Duelers are starting to get me nervous and anxious. Nervous cuz I work in sales driving alot mostly in Brooklyn often in crappy neighborhoods, till 930pm 5 nights a week. And anxious, cuz I finally have an excuse with the wife to buy new tires.

I wanna get the Rough Country 3.25"lift, with a set of 35's. The suspension I have an easy excuse (brooklyn potholes my suspension is shot). But looking at the price of 35"tires for my oem 18's it's gonna be a tough sell. So unless I come across a great deal on a set on the forum, I've been thinking of going the 15" route obviously new or used the price is way lower, also seems to be a ton of em available used.

My question is I've heard that 15's don't clear the brakes....but then I've heard some guys are running em. Is it only certain rims that will fit? do I have to grind down the calipers? Plz help, I need new shoes, and I def need to get some height on my jk.