Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

performance cams

Old 01-19-2011, 07:58 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default performance cams

i sent an email to crower asking about cams and they replyed they don't have have one but they can buy a new one, do the grinding mods and ship it.

they have several specs, and i was told that the mild cam does not require retuning but one with higher specs do require retuning.

and it costs 440$ without shipping.....so what do you think guys?
Old 01-19-2011, 08:06 PM
JK Newbie

I'm no expert but I don't think it's worth it. Our jeeps are not pre-runners and the little v6 is already stressed as it is, IMO the performance gained wouldn't be worth the time or money. Also coming from the tuner community( had a DC5 before the JK), anything to do with something like cams def requires tuning otherwise you won't see any gains to begin with...but like I said that was a I4, I'm not an expert on these engines.

Last edited by JK20A3; 01-19-2011 at 08:10 PM.
Old 01-20-2011, 08:05 AM
JK Enthusiast

Talk to someone local who works on muscle cars, they can give you a good run down of what a performance cam will do. It is basically a trade off, for anything you gain on the top end you will loose on the the low end. Not that great of a solution for an engine that needs it in both! For the cost and install I would say it is not worth it.
Old 01-24-2011, 09:13 PM
JK Newbie

they just replied about the gains...20 to 25 hp to rear wheel

and i converted the price from $440 = AED 1500 that is way cheap for a cam