Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

parts interchangable switching between lift sizes?

Old 05-11-2016, 07:46 AM
fst
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question parts interchangable switching between lift sizes?

Greetings, I’m a novice getting into the JK scene. I had purchased my 07 jk a year ago and it came with a Pro Comp Xtreme 4” lift stage 1 with the ES9000 shocks. I’ve been liking it for a while but lately been thinking about switching and dropping down to a 3” lift. I’m uncertain what’s all involved and whether I can reuse any of the current components or will I need to get a whole new 3” lift kit? What about if I go to a 3.5”? this is assuming I’m using all Pro Comp parts. A rep from Pro Comp responded that I would need to get a 3” lift kit all together as none of the parts from the 4” kit can be reused.
thanks for your help and for reading!
Old 05-11-2016, 07:50 AM
JK Jedi
FJOTM Winner

Received 366 Likes on 290 Posts

Really all you need is some smaller coils unless you are going to try and get every bit of suspension travel out of it. Without seeing what you actually have and how it was set up it is hard to get into specifics. Why would you go from a 4" to a 3.5" lift? Pro comp is a junk company that makes crap at a low price point to sell to uneducated people. What size tires are you running? That is what should determine the lift size you should be running.

Last edited by TheDirtman; 05-11-2016 at 07:56 AM.
Old 05-11-2016, 08:16 AM
fst
JK Newbie