Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Ordered my suspension kit. What do you "experts" think???

Old 07-25-2013, 11:20 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ordered my suspension kit. What do you "experts" think???

So, after months of debating and researching a lift kit for my particular budget and plans for the mistress(popular name for our Jeeps), I have decided to do the 3" Zone Offroad lift substituting out their shocks for Bilstein 5100's. Also, instead of a steering stabilizer I was advised to get a new drop pitman arm to relieve some of the stress(???). I build houses for a living, which means I am mechanically inclined, but would love some suggestions if you have any. I am spending roughly $700 for lift and shocks with exhaust extensions. Pitman arm I am assuming is around $80-$100 (the same as a steering stabilizer) I have a 2013 2-door J/K, 6-speed with 33X12.5X16 Open Country M/T's and 1069 flat black procomp wheels. Love the look. Pics will soon be posted. I do not plan on doing crazy rock crawling but offroad in the nearby area's for sure. I believe a 3" lift doesn't necessarily mean I have to worry about caster angle, driveshaft issues, gearing etc..at least my research proves that..Anyone? Thanks in advance!
Old 07-25-2013, 11:48 AM
JK Jedi

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Dont get a dropped pitman arm. That and a stabilizer are not the same. You should be able to keep the stock stabilizer also.
Old 07-25-2013, 11:51 AM
JK Super Freak

Received 1 Like on 1 Post