Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Noobie axle leak question

Old 10-10-2012, 10:54 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Noobie axle leak question

Ok, I've never done this before. I just tried to install a Rancho Dana 44 Diff Glide Plate and didn't move fast enough. Had one bolt that wouldn't catch right away for tightening. Differential fluid leaked out and I wiped it up with a paper towel. I've seen on the Forum that if the seal is broken and the diff leaks, the diff needs to be drained and a new seal installed. I've tightened everything back up without the skid plate and cleaned the diff so I can check for any further leaks in an hour or so.

My question is, since I broke the seal and lost some fluid how urgent is it to get the seal and fluid replaced? Is this something I need to take care of immediately or can I still drive the Jeep for a few days. I was planning to go offroading this weekend but should I not go until I get this fixed?

Thanks!
Old 10-10-2012, 10:56 AM
JK Freak

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Scrape off the RTV and get a lube locker. That way you can reuse it.
Old 10-10-2012, 11:22 AM
JK Enthusiast

Thanks! I didn't know about that. I will get a pair of Lube Lockers for the front and rear.

How soon do I need to get the seal replaced? That is my main concern as I don't want to damage anything.
Old 10-10-2012, 02:27 PM
JK Forum Regional Rep