Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Newbie Question regarding tires and suspension

Old 11-02-2009, 07:23 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie Question regarding tires and suspension

So I'm an obvious newbie, just picked up a 2007 JK with 19k miles on it 2 weeks ago. First mod I want to do is get new tires on the stock rims. I am looking at the Goodyear Duratrac 275/70/r18s, or the 275/65/r18s. Regarding suspension, if I want to run these with the least amount of other mods, what is my best route to go? I've seen some posts on here with people who have done Spacers & disconnects, or leveling kits...but I'm not 100% familiar with the technical aspect of this. Can someone further explain.
Old 11-02-2009, 08:48 AM
JK Junkie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If you done so already, you may want to check the FAQ regarding lift and tires:

https://www.jk-forum.com/forums/modified-jk-tech-2/modified-tech-faq-answers-questions-every-newbie-has-18617/

and this active thread which addresses a very similar question:

https://www.jk-forum.com/forums/modified-jk-tech-2/33s-stock-sahara-104851/
Old 11-02-2009, 09:34 AM
JK Jedi Master
FJOTM Winner

Received 162 Likes on 154 Posts

Get the leveling kit (raises the front 2" and the rear 1")

Go with the 275/70/r18, since it is about an inch taller than the other one. Both sizes are under 11" wide, so you shouldn't have any issues using the stock rims. If you want a 'wider' stance, add wheel spacers to push the tires out 1.5" on each side.