Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

A newbie needs lift advice

Old 04-08-2012, 03:38 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A newbie needs lift advice

Hi guys,

I am new to jeep, I am new to the forums, I am new to modifying any car and as a matter of fact I am new to even understanding auto related lingo.

But here is what I want to do,

I just purchased a new 2012 jeep wrangler unlimeted Sahara.

I would Like to put bigger tires and change the wheels on my jeep. I realize I will also have to lift it.

What are my reasons, well it mostly for looks, I will not do much 4 wheeling or off reading, however I would like to think if I had the opportunity I will take it.

The quality of the drive is still important to me, however I don't mind a good trade off .

My budget is under 3k

So I need some suggestions, of what type of gear, what type of mechanic should I look for, should I buy the parts and bring them to the mechanic. Is there a list of parts I will need to searching for, what size tires should I be considering and how does that effect the wheels

So I think you get the picture, I need a good place to start and learn from all of you. Thanks in advance for the help.
Old 04-08-2012, 04:02 PM
JK Newbie