Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

New to the jeep life.. I need help, bump steer

Old 01-25-2023, 07:49 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to the jeep life.. I need help, bump steer

So I’m new to the jk world. I bought a low mile 12’ jk with a “ new rc 6” lift” The first week or so it drove better than I expected. Then one day out of nowhere I get bump steer. So I start doing some research and just decided to replace my track bar, drag link, shocks and all. I still have it…. Here are a few pictures… thank you in advance

Last edited by Willforrest; 01-25-2023 at 01:11 PM.
Old 01-25-2023, 11:49 AM
JK Jedi
FJOTM Winner

Received 1,933 Likes on 1,692 Posts

You are going to have a real mess on your hands there IMO. 6" lift is redonk on a JK, and Rough Country in general is bad news for you. There is no way you're going to get decent caster with that lift IMO, and your steering angles are way WAY too steep. Wrapping things up at work and then hitting the road. If someone else doesn't chime in here with an explanation I'll try to elaborate more this evening when I have a moment.

Can you please add some pictures of your front control arms....both axle and frame side mounts.

Last edited by resharp001; 01-25-2023 at 11:53 AM.
Old 01-25-2023, 01:05 PM
JK Newbie

Thank you for the reply. In all honesty, I think the 6” lift the dealership claimed is only 3.5”. I looked up the part number on the springs and never seen 6” springs. It had the factory track bar on it, which had my axle kicked to the driver side roughly 1.5”. So I put an adjustable one on thinking it would fix it but it didn’t.