Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

New gears!

Old 09-23-2011, 07:01 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New gears!

After driving around for 3 years with 35's and 3.21's I finally regeared my Jeep to 4.88. It says that the break in time is 500 miles for the rear, but my question is: Is there a longer break in period for the front since it is under almost no stress while not in 4WD? I don't really want to waste the fluid and not get a proper break in by changing it at 500mi with the rear if it takes longer to break them in. This is my first time regearing myself so I'm kinda nerves to see what happens for 500mi. But I've got 75mi down and 425 to go and no problems yet!
Old 09-23-2011, 07:53 AM
JK Freak

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by Dezertjeepin
After driving around for 3 years with 35's and 3.21's I finally regeared my Jeep to 4.88. It says that the break in time is 500 miles for the rear, but my question is: Is there a longer break in period for the front since it is under almost no stress while not in 4WD? I don't really want to waste the fluid and not get a proper break in by changing it at 500mi with the rear if it takes longer to break them in. This is my first time regearing myself so I'm kinda nerves to see what happens for 500mi. But I've got 75mi down and 425 to go and no problems yet!
I'm also curious, I will be doing re-gearing soon too.

Dezertjeepin,

How do you like the change? Any change in MPG's?
Old 09-23-2011, 07:57 AM
JK Super Freak