Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Moving up to 37's... And once again the same old Axle question's

Old 02-27-2014, 07:40 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Moving up to 37's... And once again the same old Axle question's

I have been running 35's for a couple years, now it is time to graduate to 37's! I know to get C-Gussets installed up front (not on the rear, do they even make them for the rear?)... The question then becomes do I need new shafts? There seems to be a lot of mixed opinion about this out there.

If I do not get shafts I assume they become the weakest point on the axle, so (assuming there is somebody more automotive inclined than me on the trails to help) I could just carry a spare set of axle shafts in my Jeep when I go wheeling and do a field repair if necessary, or would I need more parts than that?

On the other side, if I do get new shafts what then becomes the weakest point (the diff? the sleeves?) and is that something that can be repaired in the field (again with basic tools and somebody who knows what they are doing)?
Old 02-27-2014, 07:51 AM
JK Junkie

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by cactusjack
I have been running 35's for a couple years, now it is time to graduate to 37's! I know to get C-Gussets installed up front (not on the rear, do they even make them for the rear?)... The question then becomes do I need new shafts? There seems to be a lot of mixed opinion about this out there.