Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

More driveshaft questions

Old 06-08-2008, 07:04 AM
JK Freak

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default More driveshaft questions

I am getting ready to install a 4" lift on my 2dr Rubi. I already have the RC lift, and have Currie adj. front lower control arms on order. Should be here tomorrow. This question is about changing out the rear driveshaft. For those that have had problems, did you change the pinion angle.? I don't know if this would have helped as I am still learning about such things. Or is the rear shaft just too short after lifting? Sorry to keep asking but heh, that's how to learn right?

Last edited by Bodo; 06-08-2008 at 07:35 AM.
Old 06-08-2008, 09:18 AM
JK Freak

Adding to my own post. This would be a good one for Tom Woods or JE Reel to reply to. Maybe explaining the ins and outs of this. I have done some google searches and found plenty of driveshaft pages and most require a degree in algebra or geometry or trig and such which I have neither. Come to think about it, it's been a long time since I was in school.
Old 06-08-2008, 03:33 PM
JK Enthusiast

I just changed my rear (installed a JE Reel 1310) and didn't change my pinion angle (that I know of). If it did I don't notice. The replacement yokes and shaft fit right in the old position. The u joint is just MUCH better and stronger than the CV style OEM shaft.
Old 06-09-2008, 03:32 AM
JK Enthusiast