Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

More backspacing or spacers?

Old 10-01-2008, 06:37 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default More backspacing or spacers?

JK Newbie here. Getting prepared for some mods to my JK. I am going to 35s from the Rubi tires and like the ProComp 7105 rims. They seem to have 4.25 backspacing. I like the idea of the tire having a wider stance. I think less backspacing would accomplish this. I could also use the spacers with the backspacing as well and achieve the same stability and wider stance. I am concerned that i am adding another component into the mix between the wheel and the axle that could possibly fail. Does it make more sense to go with less backspacing only or more backspacing with spacers. Forgive me if I am getting confused about this. reading too many opinions, just trying to find an easy answer.
Old 10-01-2008, 07:17 PM
JK Super Freak

Originally Posted by zxqwertyxz
JK Newbie here. Getting prepared for some mods to my JK. I am going to 35s from the Rubi tires and like the ProComp 7105 rims. They seem to have 4.25 backspacing. I like the idea of the tire having a wider stance. I think less backspacing would accomplish this. I could also use the spacers with the backspacing as well and achieve the same stability and wider stance. I am concerned that i am adding another component into the mix between the wheel and the axle that could possibly fail. Does it make more sense to go with less backspacing only or more backspacing with spacers. Forgive me if I am getting confused about this. reading too many opinions, just trying to find an easy answer.