Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Mods (and other implications) for towing 4300lbs?

Old 11-02-2007, 07:57 AM
JK Super Freak

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mods (and other implications) for towing 4300lbs?

I'm fairly new to towing, but I would really like to be able to tow a camper (Airstream) that weighs 3500lbs. dry, probably around 4300lbs. loaded. The second number exceeds the "recommended" tow rating by about 800lbs.

Further, I have replaced my factory tow hitch with one built in to a Body Armor bumper (this one). When I installed the bumper, I peeled off a sticker saying it was only for recovery purposes, though I've discussed that already on here. I've also installed a 3" lift and 35's.

My general questions are: am I out of my mind for trying this? Are there any actual legal/insurance implications for slightly exceeding the recommended tow rating? If so, is it possible to get a rig re-certified for a higher tow rating after modifying it accordingly?

I am willing to do any or all of the following, but I'd like some feedback from JK folks who tow a lot before just jumping in:
  • Further suspension beefing (front HD coils? airbags for rear coils?)
  • Re-gearing (should I go to 4.88 or 5.13 w/ 35's for towing?)
  • Grinding off () the "recovery" hitch on the Body Armor bumper...
    ... and replacing it with a true "Class III" hitch? (are these available?)
    ... and replacing it with the factory 2" hitch, even though it's being called a Class II?
    ... and replacing it with something custom that I weld up?
  • Further beefing the Body Armor hitch to convince myself it'll hold?