Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Modding in Moderation

Old 03-28-2012, 09:25 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Modding in Moderation

Hey there everyone, I'm brand new here. Just pulled my '12 Unlimited Sport out of the lot on Monday.
(I'm a college student, so my access to funds do put quite a damper on what I can potentially get done in the next few years, but I do work so I can manage some upgrading, unfortunately, the other trims for the JK U were out of my range…)

Anyways, I've been doing a lot of reading on this and other forums, jeep tech sites, etc, and have tried to accrue as much information as possible before posting for help, but I'm afraid I've reached that point. I really appreciate the level of expertise I've read consistently on this forum in particular, so I thought I'd ask for some initial advice.

My situation is pretty much this: I do a lot of outdoor stuff, camping / hiking / kayaking / whatever, but I don't plan on trying to take my Jeep up a vertical climb. I'm looking for a very moderate compromise of on–road smoothness and off–road capability. I'm familiar with the most basic concepts as to what works but that's really about it. I realize a lot of people here do extreme things with their Jeeps and have really capable builds but I'm afraid while that stuff looks awesome, that I have to take the more pedestrian route for now.