Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

lsd locker question

Old 02-20-2011, 08:11 PM
JK Super Freak

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default lsd locker question

Okay, so this may be a dumb question but I have little knowledge in this area. If I were to add arb air lockers to my stock Sahara would it still be lsd when the locker is disengaged or would it become an open differential?
Old 02-20-2011, 08:21 PM
JK Freak

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

It would be an open differential.
Old 02-20-2011, 08:23 PM
JK Freak

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Although you would still retain the stock BLD (brake lock differential) which functions somewhat like a LSD.
Old 02-20-2011, 08:34 PM
JK Super Freak

I drive in heavy snow conditions semi frequently. Would the stock lsd or some type of locker be better? I have yet to get into serious off-roading.
Old 02-20-2011, 09:53 PM
JK Jedi Master
FJOTM Winner

Received 162 Likes on 154 Posts

The stock lsd isn't really a very good traction device. Better than an open diff, but it is clutch driven and will wear out over time, taking you right back to an open diff.

Your aftermarket options:

Auto-Lockers - Lunchbox, Detroit, etc. These are full time locked, and are not the best option on snow/ice.

Selectables - ARB, E-Locker, Ox locker, etc. These are open diffs until you push the button, then they are locked. Good on snow/ice, since they are open diffs until you press that button. But, they are very expensive, and may require air sources or extra parts.