Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Looking for Lift & Tire recommendations

Old 06-10-2008, 05:32 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking for Lift & Tire recommendations

Hello everyone...

I spent the morning reading through all this and couldn't find the answer I was looking for.

I'm new to the jeep family... and would like to get rid of the stock set-up and put on new tires/wheels. This car is my daily driver... so I'm not looking to stiffen the ride as I'm a blue mooner on the trails (but I'm sure I'll go more once I start going).

Here's my question;
Was thinking of lifting it only 2½" as I have several small kids. What set-up would you recommend and what tires work well (33's?) that are not too loud / won't wear extremely fast.

Thanks!
Old 06-10-2008, 05:43 AM
JK Freak

Teraflex 2.5" budget boost is about as cheap as you'll get, and has been installed by countless numbers on this site. Good quality, easy to install.

33" tires are really your call. If it's not that much on a trail, probably stay with All Terrains. Are you in a Sahara, X, or Rubi now? The Sahara has 32" OEM tires, and the Rubi has 31" (I think). Both are AT's, but the Rubi's are more aggressive. Plenty of people have abandoned the OEM setup, so you can find a great deal on a set of either of these if money is an object.

Tires are really your preference though. The newer AT's with fairly aggressive tread are easily getting closer to 40k miles and up with the air pressure kept firm and on road driving. It comes down to what you want to spend and what look you want.

PS...be ready for TONS of opinions.