Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Lift height/drive shaft question?

Old 02-26-2013, 04:40 PM
JK Newbie

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Lift height/drive shaft question?

Howdy y'all,

I'm new to the world of JK's and have a question about lifts and when to change out drive shafts. First a little history of my experience. I've owned two other jeeps: a 1990 YJ and a 1979 CJ-7. Sorry y'all but hands down greatest jeeps are the CJ series IMO. I plan to get another 7 or an 8 but I had to compromise about a year ago when the wife and I had been trying to have kids for about six years but no dice. I sold my 7 so we could try IVF. (Luckily I was active duty Marine Corps at the time and we got a discounted rate in Raleigh cause our insurance didn't cover any of it!) Long story short it worked and I now have two beautiful twin girls that are about to be 8 months old: hence the wife wanting me to get a JK for their safety. I like it a lot it's just a little to high tech for me is all. To fancy a Jeep. Now about the jeep and my question:

It's a 2008 JKUS automatic (so the wife can have fun wheelin too)
Previous owner installed a TF 2.5" BB with Rancho shocks and an air raid intake. Performance wise, that's it.

The question y'all have been waiting for...
I am going to run the RK 5.5" X factor mid arm lift and 37" tires to start. (Planning on 40's later) in all my research I can only find things about changing the front drive shaft after 3". I should replace both for a 5.5" right? Your help would be appreciated! Thanks guys/gals.

Josh
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	image-491769004.jpg