Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Lift Advice

Old 04-28-2013, 08:24 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lift Advice

Need some reasonable advice. I'm fairly new in my lift build and adding as the funds become available. I have front upper and lower control arms installed, and a front track bar. All are from currie enterprises. I bought the currie 4" spring on Craig's list and am wondering Walmart is the minimum need for the rear end to get the springs installed.

I know that I need to get shocks, brake line extenders, etc... But I'm wondering if I can get away with just replacing the upper rear control arms or do I also need to replace the lowers too? Eventually I'll replace them both.

Also, if I get the Afe y-pipe can I stick with the stock front drive shaft? Do I need to replace the rear drive shaft? Again, I plan on swapping these out over time. Just trying to plan.

My local shop said that I had to replace everything I mentioned above and of course, they would do it for me. I tend to think they are full of it, but wanted to bounce it off the great people in this forum.

Thanks for your time and help.

Sincerely,

Jeff
Old 04-28-2013, 08:51 PM
JK Super Freak

Rear uppers should be fine as far as I know. I think most will tell you that at 4" you should just skip the y pipe and do an after market DS

Last edited by 4W-Jive; 04-29-2013 at 12:44 AM.
Old 04-29-2013, 01:33 AM
JK Super Freak

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

4inches of lift will change the location and angle of your rear axle and the lower and upper control arms will help you center it back up, I would just do it!