Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

JK Rubicon

Old 12-12-2012, 07:19 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default JK Rubicon

Hey guys, I've tried to do some searching and I keep finding conflicting info. Does a 2012-13 Rubicon have any lift over a standard JK or is it just tires and all the Rubicon goodies that make it a Rubicon? Also, I'm new to JK's and I know with 4.10s and a manual tranny I could get by on 35's, I want to run 37's eventually and do long arms but I don't want to regear right away or make major mods to axles, drive shafts and so on. What is the max reliable lift JK's will accept with out major mods? And lastly, in regards to my first question, a 3.5 inch lift is 3.5 on all Jeeps or just a standard model?

Thanks!
Old 12-12-2012, 08:16 AM
JK Super Freak

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

It's funny I was just at the dealer yesterday and measured both the sport in the Rubicons the suspensions are the same in height. the Rubicon you're so get a 44 axle in the front where is the sport you only get a 30. welcome to the forum maybe someone will chime in with your other questions.
Old 12-12-2012, 08:35 AM
JK Newbie

If you want to run 37's I would save a few bills and get a sport, sahara, or X. The money you save get air lockers and a prorock 44 front axle - instead of having to sleeve/gusset/truss/regear the rubi44.

2.5"-3" of lift is minimum for not having to do many modifications. Over that you'd need new lines, control arms, drive shaft(s), etc...
Old 12-12-2012, 11:37 AM
JK Newbie

Originally Posted by PrayingMantits