Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

how to pick the right winch?

Old 11-21-2015, 06:11 AM
JK Newbie

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default how to pick the right winch?

Hey guys,
I'm a noob at buying a winch.
Need some help. can I just buy a winch from anywhere and it will fit my jeep jk XRC bumper?

I'm looking at something like this from princess auto

6,000 lb 12V DC Utility All-Purpose Winch | Princess Auto

Anything I should look out for when buying a winch?
Old 11-21-2015, 08:22 AM
JK Super Freak

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I'm not familiar with that line of winch but two things helped drive my choice.

1. Select a winch that can pull twice my Jeep weight.

2. Quality, because when I'm using my winch clearly I'm in a bad spot. With that being said I'm not familiar with that line of winch and would certainly dig deeper researching it.
Old 11-21-2015, 09:02 AM
JK Junkie

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Originally Posted by ginxer86
Hey guys,
I'm a noob at buying a winch.
Need some help. can I just buy a winch from anywhere and it will fit my jeep jk XRC bumper?

I'm looking at something like this from princess auto

6,000 lb 12V DC Utility All-Purpose Winch | Princess Auto

Anything I should look out for when buying a winch?
Optimally, at least twice the loaded weight of your Jeep, including the weight of extras like steel bumpers, etc'.
6,000lb sounds too little.

Synthetic line.

Last edited by GJeep; 11-21-2015 at 09:05 AM.
Old 11-21-2015, 09:19 AM
JK Freak

Received 1 Like on 1 Post