Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

HELP! Front LCA problems

Old 04-25-2011, 03:53 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default HELP! Front LCA problems

So I'm a dangerous amateur and did something stupid. Never having done much on the Jeep, I installed a new front bumper and TF 2.5" Coil lift with TF adj. front LCAs and a JKS front Adj trackbar (2DR Manual). The lift, with some good learning points, went smoothly. I had to leave to go back to NY and didnt have time to do a front end alignment, so I figured if i put the adjustable LCAs and track bar in the stock positions the ride might be a little flighty and the axle off by 1/8" but it would be driveable and i could dial everything in later....

Long story short, my father and I both got under the jeep, took off the LCAs and put in the new ones.. problem.. in a rush, we took both LCAs off at the same time. We put the new LCAs in the same spot, but i think the axle rotated towards the rear and we didnt notice. When the new stuff was installed I went to drive away and as soon as i apply a lot of power to first i hear clunk clunk clunk. after my heart dropped i looked under and I have a negative pinion angle (i think?). i think what im hearing/feeling is driveline vibration and I think that its fixable.