Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Help with Alignment

Old 08-10-2020, 05:08 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with Alignment

Hello, I recently purchased a 2016 Rubicon (30k miles) that already had some work done. I am new to jeeps and still learning so please bear with me. I am still not sure exactly what has/hasn't been replaced. Here's what I do know. It has a terraflex 3.5" lift kit. I'm not sure what kit specifically was purchased but from my observations it has 9550 shocks and terraflex adjustable upper and lower control arms. It has 37" Tires. The first thing I immediately noticed is that it felt "squirrely" going down the freeway, almost like it didn't want to stay in it's lane. It also pulls to the right. I took it to a 4x4 shop and had them do an alignment. They did the alignment but told me they couldn't fix the pull without offset ball joints. I told them no thanks, and to do the best they can without them. I drive it home and it doesn't feel any better to me. I decide to take a look underneath and I see that the jamb nut for the front drivers side control arm is COMPLETELY loose. Also, on the spec sheet they gave me, I see the caster is still out of spec. Unfortunately, the alignment sheet from my first visit was thrown away.