Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Gears and other mods help

Old 11-15-2011, 07:45 PM
JK Junkie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Gears and other mods help

Im new to jeeping and would like some info on gears. I have a 2008 unlimited x and i believe it has a dana 30 front and a 44 rear. I have 17" tires with equivalent of 33" tires. I might consider putting 35s on later. What gear ratio do you recommend? Also does lift have any effect? I plan on putting a rough country 3.5" lift. One last thing what kind of chip can i put in to increase power and fuel efficiency a little until i get the gears taken care of?
Old 11-15-2011, 07:55 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Your profile says you have an auto. So if its going to be more of a dd with minimal trail use id say 4.88's should take care of you. On the other hand if youll be doing a lot of rock crawling probably 5.13's would be better especially if you will be going to 35's. As far as a performance chip everyone seems to love the superchips tuner. Unfortunately i havent been able to use one since i have a 2011 and they dont work with 2011's yet. And as far as the lift a 3.5in lift should work well with 33's and be just enough to accommodate 35's in the future
Old 11-15-2011, 10:56 PM
JK Jedi Master
FJOTM Winner

Received 162 Likes on 154 Posts