Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Gears

Old 03-12-2020, 05:56 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gears

I have a 2011 rubicon with 4.11 gears. Going to 35s soon. First question: stock - my front is dana 30 and rear 44? If I was to go up on gears from the 4.11 what should I go to and how much is that typically? I am rather new to this and I know I am going to lose some power with the tire change from the 33's. I eventually may put a new engine in but that will probably just be a 3.8. What mods can be done to that engine besides turbo/supercharger to get a little more out of it? Also, if I wanted a new 3.8 where is the best place to look?

Thanks in advance
Old 03-12-2020, 10:13 AM
JK Jedi Master
FJOTM Winner

Received 162 Likes on 154 Posts

With a rubicon, you have a D44 front and a D44 rear (a different d44 than non-rubicons use for rear axles.)

Prices for gearing varies widely by location. It can be found as cheap as $800 or so, or as expensive as $3500ish. Average seems to be around $1500. But you need to judge your local price by other shops in your area, not by what people are paying in Florida or Texas or California or anywhere else !!! Call or stop by all of you local shops. Compare not only the labor charged to install gears, but the price for the gears themselves and the details of the warranty that is given. These details can vary quite a bit among just your local shops. Try and find some local jeepers / jeep groups to get opinions and references.