Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Gearing and Speeds

Old 03-31-2020, 12:37 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gearing and Speeds

Hello all,

I have a 2011 JKU sport, I’m fixing to put 315/70R17 Mickey Thompson Baja MTZ tires on it. It’s an auto and I live in the hills of east TN so gears are an absolute must for me, I also do a lot of wheeling in Windrock and RB off-road parks as well as other areas. Lots of rocks and sticky sticky mud. I’m bouncing back and forth between 4.88s or 5.13s. I’m a mechanic so I know how to install and all that my concern is top end speeds in comparison to RPMs. It’s a Jeep I’m not looking to drag race but it’s my DD and I do hit the interstates quite frequently. It’ll be an approximated 35” tire so the little charts online say 5.13 optimally but 4.88s will work. I don’t drive fast I’m no lead foot but speed is a slight concern as speeds here on the interstate are 65 while everyone goes 80 lol. I know the 3.8L/auto combo is sluggish and all that so I want some more pep on and off road. It’ll have a steel stubby bumper with a 12k winch soon, rock sliders after that, and eventually a steel bumper and upgraded hinges for a 35” tire as well as some other modifications. So weight is gonna absolutely climb.

If anyone has any input it would be greatly appreciated thanks!
Old 03-31-2020, 12:53 PM
JK Super Freak

Received 63 Likes on 58 Posts