Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Gearing recommendations

Old 01-21-2011, 03:39 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Gearing recommendations

Hello, I'm looking for some advice on what gear ratio I should go with. I just purchased an 08 Wrangler X... It did come with some type of 2" lift and 35" tires... I love the Jeep but being a complete noob I didn't know what to really look for in a Jeep. It has the manual 6sd transmission with 3.21 gears... that's what the guy tells me anyways (haven't actually verified myself yet) but I was curious what you guys think a good ratio would be to go with to get some pep into this thing (mainly don't want to have to change gears for every little hill around the house).

thanks,
-Gary
Old 01-21-2011, 04:11 AM
JK Enthusiast

Originally Posted by TheDirtman
Here is the chart.
Attachment 119871
perfect thanks
Old 01-21-2011, 05:52 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Do not go by the tire size on the sidewall. Measure your tires from the ground to the hub centerline then multiply x2. This will give you the true measurement of your tires, then look at the chart. Also if you are running a heavy wheel and tire combo you will want to take that into consideration.
Old 01-21-2011, 06:05 AM
JK Enthusiast

Originally Posted by ffjeeper
Do not go by the tire size on the sidewall. Measure your tires from the ground to the hub centerline then multiply x2. This will give you the true measurement of your tires, then look at the chart. Also if you are running a heavy wheel and tire combo you will want to take that into consideration.